Released on January 12, 2021

Health Minister Paul Merriman has announced changes to the Board of Directors of eHealth Saskatchewan, the Treasury Board Crown Corporation responsible for information technology for Saskatchewan’s health system.  The Minister also provided instruction to the new Board of Directors to initiate an independent review of the governance, management and program operations at eHealth.  The announcement follows the government’s acceptance of the Office of the Saskatchewan Information and Privacy Commissioner report released on January 8, 2021.

“Our government takes the protection of personal health information seriously and we are greatly concerned by the findings and recommendations presented in Mr. Kruzeniski’s report,” Merriman said.  “As committed, we are taking immediate action to address and review the governance, management and program operations at eHealth to ensure the organization responsible for protecting health information is meeting the serious expectations of Saskatchewan citizens.”

The new two-person board will provide closer oversight of eHealth Saskatchewan and better accommodate the independent review.  The new Chair is Ministry of Health Associate Deputy Minister Denise Macza.  Ministry of Health Assistant Deputy Minister Billie-Jo Morrissette will serve as Vice-Chair.  The appointments take effect immediately and will replace the previous Board Chair and Directors.  The appointments do not reflect a lack of confidence in the previous Board Chair and members.

“I would like to thank the outgoing Board of Directors for their service,” Merriman said.  “I am confident that the new Board appointments as an interim measure will provide closer oversight of eHealth by the Ministry of Health during the governance review.”


This content was originally published here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *